October 24, 2014

All Access Press Club (Subscribers)

Online all-access is free to print subscribers. Username is your account number, 7-digit number before the expiration date on your mailing label. Password is your zip code.

Written by Staff Report   
Friday, December 21, 2012 3:14 PM


Q:  Notre Dame's Brian Kelly became the school's first-ever winner of the AP college football Coach of the Year award last week. How many Southeastern Conference coaches have won the award since its origin in 1998?

A: Three SEC coaches have won the award for a total of four, including Nick Saban (twice), LSU 2003 and Alabama 2008; Tommy Tuberville, Auburn 2004; and Les Miles, LSU 2011.

Today in …

2002 – Katie Hnida becomes the first woman to play in an NCAA Division I-A college football game – and the third overall – when she attempts an extra point for New Mexico in the Las Vegas Bowl. The point is blocked and the Lobos los to UCLA 27-13. Liz Heaston previously played for Willamette in 1997 in an NAIA Division III contest and Ashley martin played for Division I-AA Jacksonville State in 2001. Both were also placekickers. Hnida goes on to kick two extra points in the fourth quarter of New Mexico's 72-8 win over Texas State on Aug. 30, 2003. She began her college career at Colorado, but never appeared in a game before transferring to New Mexico. In 2006 she'll write a book about her experiences entitled “Still Kicking: My Journey as the First Woman to Play Division One College Football.”


Raiders quarterback Kenny (Snake) Stabler, born 1945. Dolphins fullback Larry (Zonk) Csonka, born 1946.