October 25, 2014

All Access Press Club (Subscribers)

Online all-access is free to print subscribers. Username is your account number, 7-digit number before the expiration date on your mailing label. Password is your zip code.

Written by Staff Report   
Wednesday, January 02, 2013 5:29 PM


Q:  No. 1 Notre Dame (12-0) and No. 2 Alabama (12-1), who'll go head-to-head for college football's BCS title, are the top two teams in all-time national championships in the modern era (1936-present). What team(s) rank third?

A: Alabama's Crimson Tide ranks No. 1 with 9 national titles, most recently in 2011. Notre Dame, with eight titles, the most recent in 1988, ranks second. Oklahoma's Sooners and USC's Trojans are tied for third with seven national titles each. 

Today in …

2003 - In the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl in Tempe, Ariz., Ohio State defeats Miami (Fla.) 31-24 in double overtime on a controversial play to win college football's Bowl Championship Series national title. The Hurricanes, an 11-1/2 point favorite coming in, are expected to repeat as national champions with a roster that includes Andre Johnson, Willis McGahee, Kellen Winslow Jr. and Jonathan Vilma. But it's a dogfight from the start. OSU kicker Todd Sievers hits a 40-yard field goal on the last play in regulation to tie it 17-17, sending the game to overtime. After exchanging touchdowns in the first OT, Buckeyes get a break on a disputed pass interference call in the second OT to go up 31-24. Buckeyes' defense stops the 'Canes on fourth-and-goal at the one yard line to complete the upset.


Giants quarterback Eli Manning, born 1981. Giants wide receiver David Tyree, born 1980.