Submitted photo: Dearborn Community Foundation Board member Ramzi Nuseibeh, left, delivers a $1,000 grant check to Mike Odar, Principal at Saint Lawrence School, Lawrenceburg. The DCF grant monies are helping to support educational programs at the school.

Joe Awad/The Journal-Press: State Sen. Jeff Raatz told about 100 people at the Dearborn County Chamber of Commerce Pre-Legislative Luncheon Monday, Dec. 3, that education will be top-of-mind during the 2019 Indiana Legislative Session. Raatz recently was named chairman of the Senate Education Committee.

News Stories

Tim Sinclair, Andrew Shelton

Three men are charged with brining methamphetamine into the Dearborn County Law Enforcement Center.

Dearborn County 4-H registration is open for a 3D printer program, beginning Jan. 7, and ending March 11.

Highpoint Health is welcoming new Hospitalists to its Medical Staff this November.  Hospital Medicine Physicians, better known as Hospitalists, work in the hospital to provide seven-day-a-week, aro


EC sophomore Kyla Maxwell (24) scores on a wide-open look for two of her 14 points in Saturday night’s 44-32 win at Batesville. (Sandy Mahoney)

BATESVILLE - Sophomore Kyla Maxwell’s 14 points and a double-double from 6’3” senior Logan Cox led East Central girls basketball to a 44-32 non-conference win at Batesville Saturday night.

East Central's Trevor Becker (44) drives around Batesville defender Robert Raver (50) for the layup in Saturday's 55-46 non-conference boys varsity basketball win at The Dog Pound. (Sandy Mahoney)

BATESVILLE - East Central boys basketball bounced back from two-straight losses with a morale-building 55-46 non-conference win at arch-rival Batesville Saturday night.

It takes a team to help outstanding individual players achieve record, which is why Lawrenceburg’s unbeaten Lady Tigers (12-0) were all smiles after junior Juliana Kemper (front & center) broke the school’s all-time girls basketball scoring record in Saturday afternoon’s key 48-44 EIAC win over Rushville. (Rachel Acasio)

LAWRENCEBURG - Which event was bigger for Lawrenceburg girls basketball Saturday afternoon was debatable.


Submitted photo: Peyton Sloan, Eli Burke, James South, Kaiden Wessell study science at Aurora Elementary.

In Sarah Curts’ third grade class at Aurora Elementary School, students have been working hard on science this year!

The following is the Greendale Middle School 2018-19 first quarter honor roll.

A Honor Roll

Applications for the 2019 Innovate WithIN™ pitch competition, a statewide initiative hosted by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, Indiana Department of Education and Ball State Universit


Danny L. Armbrecht, 77, of The Villages, Fla., passed away Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2018.

Danny was born July 25, 1941, in Batesville, Ind., to Orvall and Lucille (Prakel) Armbrecht.

Trina Marie Kohlmeier, 56, of Greendale, Ind., passed away Friday, Dec. 14, 2018. She was born No. 2, 1962, in Batesville, Ind., daughter of the late James Schuler and Glenna (Hardick) Schuler.

Ruth Stadtlander Collins, 88, of Greendale, Ind., passed away Sunday, Dec. 16, 2018. She was born Aug. 24, 1930, in Lawrenceburg, Ind., daughter of the late John

The Dearborn County Register & Journal Press

Mailing address:
     Register Publications,
     126 W. High St.
     Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 1-812-537-0063
Fax: 1-812-537-5576