Ivy Tech L’burg student named 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar

A student from the Ivy Tech Community College Lawrenceburg Campus has won a $1,000 scholarship as a 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar.

Amy Payne of Lawrenceburg is one of 207 Phi Theta Kappa honor society members nationwide named a 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar.

The Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program helps new Phi Theta Kappa members defray educational expenses while enrolled in associate degree programs.

Scholars are also encouraged to assume leadership roles by participating in Society programs and are selected based on scholastic achievement, community service, and leadership potential. More than 1,200 applications were received.

“We are very proud of Amy for earning this prestigious award,” said Ivy Tech Lawrenceburg Chancellor Mark Graver. “Our academic programs at the Lawrenceburg campus will provide her with a path to career success, and this scholarship will help Amy achieve her goals.”

A total of $207,000 is awarded through the Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation provides $200,000 in funding for the scholarships, with $25,000 set aside for members who are veterans or active members of the U.S. military.

The remaining amount is supported by donations to the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation and provides seven Global Leaders of Promise Scholarships, earmarked for international students.

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, Executive Vice President and

President-Elect of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa, make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals, and support tomorrow’s leaders of the global community.”

The funds provided by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation not only aid college completion, but also give students the opportunity to engage in Society programs and develop leadership skills to become future leaders in their communities.

“Phi Theta Kappa provides our students with an opportunity to build leadership skills on campus and receive encouragement to continue in their academic excellence,” said Dr. Matthew Probst, Ivy Tech Lawrenceburg Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. “Amy is well-deserving of this scholarship, and we are happy to have her as one of our students and as a member of PTK.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 10 nations. Learn more at ptk.org.

“Research shows that Phi Theta Kappa members are four times more likely to complete a college degree than their peers,” said Dr. Monica Marlowe, Executive Director of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation. “The Leaders of Promise Scholarships recognize students for what they have achieved already and assure that financial need isn’t an obstacle to achieving their academic goals.”

The Dearborn County Register & Journal Press

Mailing address:
     Register Publications,
     126 W. High St.
     Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 1-812-537-0063
Fax: 1-812-537-5576


Useful Info