Denise Freitag Burdette/The Register: South Dearborn students Georgia Carson, Stacey Armah, Torrey Hibbard, Cheyenne Schuler, Kortney Wright, Zoe Ross and Gunner Hollin have fun hitting FCCLA chapter adviser Bryan Schuerman with a pie during an assembly in the school gym.

News Stories

Submitted photo: Artist Andrea England, Aurora, right, is joined by Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch, both holding her graphite pencil drawing that was a winner in the 2019 Hoosier Women Artists competition.

Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch, Treasurer Kelly Mitchell and the Indiana Arts Commission hosted a reception to celebrate the 2019 Hoosier women artists Wednesday, March 20, at the Statehouse.

Greendale Redevelopment Commission has taken under advisement a request for support of  $506,583 for a proposed commercial development on U.S. 50 near the Interstate 275/U.S. 50 intersection.

The closure plan and groundwater monitoring plan for the Main Ash Pond at the former AEP Power Plant in Lawrenceburg have been revised, according to letters from Patrick Kennedy, EnviroAnalytics Gr


AURORA - South Dearborn High School boys basketball has just completed arrangements to host nine area teams in a one-day shootout event next season.

Gritty South Dearborn junior guard Alex Shackelford led a trio of double-digit scorers at 11.8 points per game as the Knights averaged 60.0 per contest for their best offensive output in six years.

AURORA - A lot can be said about South Dearborn’s 2018-19 boys varsity basketball season, which offered plenty of ups and downs, under second-year head coach Kevin Reinhardt.

Logan Cox

East Central



Proud of the bluegrass traditions of the area, Dearborn Highlands Arts Council welcomes The Missy Werner Band, Saturday, April 13, at 2 p.m. in the Ewbank Room, Lawrenceburg Public Library, Lawrenc

Submitted photo: East Central FFA Chapter recently competed in the District 12 FFA Leadership Contests. Pictured in the third row, from the left, are: Matt Badinghaus, Travis Foote, Joseph Miller, Jacob Kuhn, Heath Doll, Evan Kuhn, Bradley Kolb and Brady Hornberger. Second row: Dallas Keith, Amelia Hartman, Madison McAdams, Maria Hartman, Kayla Miles, Emma Gutfreund, Mary Brewington, Madison Shumate, Erica Kathman and Bailey Grunkemeyer. Front row: David Massingale, John Kathman, Jacob Miller, Chloe Webb, Arien King, Maddie Dawson, Rachel Kraus and Kylee Starost.

On March 2, members from the East Central FFA Chapter traveled to Southwestern Hanover High School to compete in the District 12 FFA Leadership Contests.

The students in Shannon Gabbard’s second grade class at Aurora Elementary have been hard at work.  


Margie Lucille Gulley, 94, of Greenfield, Ind., previously from Lawrenceburg, passed away on Wednesday, March 20, 2019. She was born July 14, 1924.

Earl Hagy, 82, of Dillsboro, Ind., passed away Wednesday, March 20, 2019. He was born March 6, 1937, in Cumberland, Ky., son of the late John and Gladys (Kaiser) Hagy.

Ronald Fields, 59, of Lawrenceburg, Ind., passed away  Monday, March 18, 2019. He was born April 6, 1959, in Lawrenceburg, Ind., son of the late Ora and Louise (Brashears) Fields.

The Dearborn County Register & Journal Press

Mailing address:
     Register Publications,
     126 W. High St.
     Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 1-812-537-0063
Fax: 1-812-537-5576