Article Image Alt Text

Nominations sought for state’s top restoration project

Indiana Landmarks welcomes nominations for the 2019 Cook Cup for Outstanding Restoration.

The annual honor goes to the owner of a historic structure that has been restored following the highest standards in method, materials and design.

Nominees may be individuals, companies, nonprofit organizations, institutions and government entities. Anyone may submit a nomination- the owner, architect, engineer, contractor, neighbor, appreciative citizen.

The restoration must have been completed within the past two years, and the structure must be in active use.

In addition to considering restoration standards, the selection committee looks for a transformation that has had a significant, beneficial impact on its neighborhood or community.

Indiana Landmarks inaugurated the Cook Cup for Outstanding Restoration in 2007, when the prize went to the award’s namesake family in honor of its transformation of the West Baden and French Lick Springs hotels in southern Indiana.

Previous winners have included Second Baptist Church in New Albany, Butler University for the renovation of Hinkle Fieldhouse, the City of Elkhart for the Lerner Theatre restoration, and the late Richard Ford for the Charley Creek Inn, a hotel in Wabash.

Indiana Landmarks will award the Cook Cup at its annual Rescue Party on April 27, where a short video about the winner produced by Road Pictures accompanies the presentation.

Nomination forms are available at  The deadline for nominations is Dec. 1, 2018.

The Dearborn County Register & Journal Press

Mailing address:
     Register Publications,
     126 W. High St.
     Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 1-812-537-0063
Fax: 1-812-537-5576