Several candidates ‘elected’ ahead of November

With about 85 days remaining before the general election in November, several Republican candidates for Dearborn County offices have essentially won.

With the filing deadline over, the Democratic Party proffers no competition for Superior Court Judge No 2, meaning Judge Sally McLaughlin will return for another four-year term.

Meanwhile, Dearborn and Ohio County Prosecutor Lynn Deddens, who was selected by the GOP Central Committee following the resignation of Aaron Negangard, also has no Democratic challenger.

The same holds true for GOP county auditor candidate Connie Fromhold; GOP Sheriff candidate and present county commissioner Shane McHenry; and county GOP assessor candidate Megan Acra.

The county recorder office will pit Republican Joyce Oles against Democrat Christine Craig.

The featured race, however, will be for county commissioner, District 3, an at-large election in which Republican and former clerk of courts Rick Probst faces off with Independent and current county recorder Glenn Wright. Both are well-known public servants.

On the county council side, Republican Liz Morris has no competition in District 1. In District 4, Republican Dennis Kraus has no competitor.

And in a switch-up, Democrat Dan Lansing has no competition in District 2.

In District 3, Republican Kevin Turner will take on Democrat Melvin Kremer Jr.

The filing deadline for school board candidates is Friday, Aug. 24.

The Dearborn County Register & Journal Press

Mailing address:
     Register Publications,
     126 W. High St.
     Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 1-812-537-0063
Fax: 1-812-537-5576


Useful Info