Article Image Alt Text

East Central High School wrestlers, led by 5 weight class champions, captured their first Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference championship since 2012 - and the school's 11th in history - 251-241.5 over runner-up Lawrenceburg and the 8-team league in the weather-delayed EIAC meet Tuesday night, Jan. 15, on the home mat. EC's individual champs included Tyler Schneider (113 pounds), Grant Stapleton (126), Adam Negangard (138), Andrew Roberts (152) and Kole Viel (182). South Dearborn sophomore Bryer Hall (24-0) a 2-time champion at 145 pounds, was named 2019 conference MVP. (Sue Story)

Article Image Alt Text

South Dearborn sophomore Bryer Hall (24-0), a repeat EIAC champion after moving up to the 145-pound class this season, was voted conference Most Valuable Wrestler in Tuesday night's meet at St. Leon. He placed sixth in the state finals at 126 pounds a year ago. (Sue Story)



Article Image Alt Text

East Central 6'3" senior center Alyssa Robben (40) posts up for two points in a one-on-one matchup with Lawrenceburg junior Juliana Kemper (12) in Tuesday's 60-27 EIAC showdown rout by the Lady Trojans. (Sandy Mahoney)

Article Image Alt Text

Abby Koch (25) of East Central scores on the fastbreak while Lawrenceburg's sliding Tristyn Dennis (13) tries to make the stop in Tuesday's 60-27 EIAC first-place blowout win by the Lady Trojans. (Sandy Mahoney)

Article Image Alt Text

Averaging 20 points per game coming in, Lawrenceburg's Juliana Kemper (12) found her looks at the basket limited by smothering East Central defense in the No. 9-ranked Lady Tigers' 60-27 home loss Tuesday.

Article Image Alt Text

Lawrenceburg's Justice Chambers (11) finds her layup contested by East Central's 6'3" Alyssa Robben in Tuesday's 60-27 conference first-place win by EC. Also visible are the Tigers' Jenna Farmer (24), Juliana Kemper (12) and Makenna White (3) and EC's Ashley McCool (44) and Abby Koch (25).


LAWRENCEBURG - Tuesday night's matchup of the top two unbeaten girls basketball teams in the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference devolved quickly into a shocking blowout.

Article Image Alt Text

Certified Athletic Trainers from Highpoint Health, directed by Beacon Orthopedics, from the four River Town Classic schools were honored with the National Athletic Trainers' Association Safe Sports School Awards during the basketball tournament at South Dearborn High School Friday, Jan. 4. They are, from left: Jennifer Bostic (Highpoint Health athletic training coordinator); athletic trainers Abby Walters (South Dearborn), Clif Willoughby (Switzerland County), Josh Uhlmansiek (Rising Sun), and Brandie Goad (Lawrenceburg); and Dr. David Argo, Beacon Orthopedics medical director. The award recognizes secondary schools that provide safe environments for student athletes. The four high schools are staffed with Certified Athletic Trainers from Highpoint Health, directed by Beacon Orthopedics' Dr. Argo and Dr. Robert Rolf. (Mason J. Uhlmansiek)



The Dearborn County Register & Journal Press

Mailing address:
     Register Publications,
     126 W. High St.
     Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 1-812-537-0063
Fax: 1-812-537-5576


Useful Info