Article Image Alt Text

Certified Athletic Trainers from Highpoint Health, directed by Beacon Orthopedics, from the four River Town Classic schools were honored with the National Athletic Trainers' Association Safe Sports School Awards during the basketball tournament at South Dearborn High School Friday, Jan. 4. They are, from left: Jennifer Bostic (Highpoint Health athletic training coordinator); athletic trainers Abby Walters (South Dearborn), Clif Willoughby (Switzerland County), Josh Uhlmansiek (Rising Sun), and Brandie Goad (Lawrenceburg); and Dr. David Argo, Beacon Orthopedics medical director. The award recognizes secondary schools that provide safe environments for student athletes. The four high schools are staffed with Certified Athletic Trainers from Highpoint Health, directed by Beacon Orthopedics' Dr. Argo and Dr. Robert Rolf. (Mason J. Uhlmansiek)


Article Image Alt Text

Guilford's 1934 sectional champion Yellowjackets included, first row, from left: Ed Boyles, Cecil Woliung, Lee Hansell, John Taylor, Joe Hornbach, Wilbur Hornbach and Carl Jacob. Second row: Merle Davis, Oakey Draut, manager Carl Brewer, coach Lewis Jacob, Herman Kroner, Clinton Stewart and Charles Klump. (EC Athletics)

Article Image Alt Text

Sunman's 1938 sectional champion Tigers included, first row, from left: Bill Drokleman, Boyd Schuck, Charles Fritsch, Don Freyer, Lee Reddert and John Stahley. Second row: Marvin Luhring, Francis Federle, Quentin Osburn and Stanley Clemenz. Third row: Harland Kratzer, Kenneth Wiesenhan and managers Mervin Luhring and Charles Creech. Fourth row: principal Forrest Waters and coach Lewis Jacob. (EC Athletics)


ST. LEON - The East Central Athletic Hall of Fame Committee, along the EC basketball program, will pay tribute to two past sectional championship teams this Saturday night, Jan. 19.

Article Image Alt Text

Brilan McCory, whose two three-point buckets to start the fourth quarter put East Central up for good in a 39-36 EIAC win over Batesville Friday, feeds the ball to sophomore sister Charsan McCory (50) at the post. (Sandy Mahoney)

Article Image Alt Text

East Central's Alyssa Robben (40) posts up for two of her 10 points against future Indiana State teammate Hattie Westerfeld (42) of Batesville in Friday night's hard-fought 39-36 EIAC win at St. Leon. (Sandy Mahoney)


ST. LEON - Never underestimate the intensity of the East Central-Batesville sports rivalry was the lesson again Friday night in a 39-36 close call for EC girls basketball.


The Dearborn County Register & Journal Press

Mailing address:
     Register Publications,
     126 W. High St.
     Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 1-812-537-0063
Fax: 1-812-537-5576


Useful Info